Tags

, , , , , , ,

This post is part of the 12 Days of Geekmas.  Check out the concept here, and let NerdyAlerty’s blog feed your eyeballs as well!

Gonna tell you guys a secret.  I have watched the shit out of this show.  Like, literally, from season one to the very last episode.  There aren’t many programs on TV that I considered appointment television, but Charmed was one of them.

charmed_again_by_oved011again-d45w4w1-1

Even if none of them ever could apparently look back at me without tilting their heads.

I was turned on to the show by my then-girlfriend, when I was at a point in my life where I was still ignoring who I really was.

For the record, she helped me come to terms and we still remain very good friends.  No deception to her or anything.  Love you, Jess.

Anyway, the show intrigued me enough because, as I have mentioned before on this blog, I love cheese.  This show was that Melrose Place/90210/Hercules-style of “fantasy” program that intrigued me because it wasn’t terribly high tech or deep.  It took itself seriously, but wasn’t too over-invested.  For me, it was like watching a LARP fight, basically, except without any malice or derision.

The program, in case you’re not familiar, follows three women who play the role of The Charmed Ones.  They’re witches of great magical power who fight against dark magic while balancing their modern lives.  Thing is, the entire setting doesn’t really warp around them too much–on the contrary, they have to mold themselves to it.  This made their magical powers root in to methods of modern witchcraft, of which I’m a practitioner.  As fantastical as things got, it still all felt kind of grounded.

hqdefault

…well…uhm…I mean.

Okay, so maybe not “grounded” so much as “palpable within the world”.  See, the energies and the stuff this show employs sort of follows beliefs that exist today, although the magicks in question are less ritual or prayer and more…well…hadouken?

Be that as it may, the series still felt like it was a whole universe that was just nearby and close, and it reveled in the idea.  It made three ordinary women feel both powerful yet fragile, much like I would expect humans would act if they were in the same situation.  Its sense of drama was always a bit contrived, but then, that was part of the fun.  A soap opera for the fantasy and magic-loving set.

The fact that the show had a long run and even the confidence to give Shannen Doherty the boot speaks to its fanbase the most.  Those who love the show REALLY love the show, and it’s cool to be counted in that fandom.

charmed-fan-art-charmed-30574627-678-558

…and most of that fanbase tends to use Photoshop a lot.

With shows like Arrow and Supergirl and The Flash out there now, I’m kind of hoping that we’ll see something like this show again…but at the same time I kind of recognize that there won’t be another show like it again.  It was in that window of the late 90’s-early 2000’s where programming like this was prevalent.  I mean, The WB was pretty much a channel built on it.

Ultimately, the show marks a time in my life which was both a little awkward but also important for me.  Many times we relate moments of our existence to the media we consumed, and Charmed is definitely that for me.  It was goofy yet delightful.  Corporeal, yet disconnected.  I had a blast.

