Tags

, , , , , , ,

This post is part of the 12 Days of Geekmas.  Check out the concept here, and let NerdyAlerty’s blog feed your eyeballs as well!

I despise George R.R. Martin.  I find his brand of fiction to be one-note, needlessly shocking and distasteful to the point of near-satire, and couldn’t bring myself to read past the second half of the second book.  The fact that he’s shrugged at the idea of the show being run by its writing staff speaks to his penchant for merely cashing in, in my view, and I find the show abhorrent and gross.

So, why am I getting that off of my chest in a blog series that’s supposed to accentuate the positive?  Because even with feelings like that, I can find something to love in Game of Thrones.  And that something is the fiction’s weaponry.

More specifically, of course, I should say the show’s adaptation of the fiction’s weaponry, but you get the idea.  The swords created in the world of Game of Thrones all have a history and a legend tied to them.  I am an absolute nut for medieval arms, and I find the swords in GoT to be some of the most beautiful weapons of war ever developed since Tolkien.

longclaw202

I mean, lookit! LOOOOK IIIIIT.

In the course of putting together this blog, I have ended up window shopping replicas of the series’ weapons, and I have to say that it has been both painful and delightful.  Painful because I can’t quite afford these things, and delightful because they are lovely to behold.  I’m particularly drawn to Ice, Oathkeeper and the Arakh, though I also love Blackfyre and Needle, as well as the story of Lightbringer and of Brightroar…

…yanno what?  Basically I like them all.

Not only does each weapon hold its own story, but it also feels proper to the person who holds it.  Needle, for example, strikes me as the absolute perfect weapon for a younger hand to wield.  Ice has the intimidating presence and power of a character like Ned Stark.  Each weapon in turn becomes a part of the wielder’s character, like a legendary weapon should.  In fact, looking upon them would very likely ignite a fan’s memory of the owner’s life or death, and in so doing inspire a sense of awe.

jlannisterswd203

…or with this weapon’s owner, a sense of gritted teeth.

In my mind, a good weapon not only should carry a unique design but also feel like it’d be useful in battle.  As iconic a thing as Sephiroth’s Great Overcompensator katana is, I could never ultimately take him seriously because LOOK AT THE SIZE OF THAT STUPID THING.  Here, however, the weapons not only look great, but also look completely functional.  They are purpose-built.  They are honest-to-goodness weapons of battle as well as display pieces of might or lordship.

Ultimately, I concede that the world of Game of Thrones is not meant to be nice and I can appreciate that.  I also will never balk at a fan for liking the show–I don’t, you do, that is absolutely cool with me.  Please, enjoy.  Meanwhile, I’m going to continue to drool over the beauty of these weapons.

As well as wish I could own my own dire wolf.

